Time to Run

Carlee Gonzales, Hammond City Councilwoman District 2, officially filed her candidacy for re-election Wednesday at the Tangipahoa Parish Clerk Of Court's office in Amite. Locally, Hammond, Tickfaw, and Kentwood municipal elections are on the Nov. 8 ballot, along with all nine School Board representatives and a special election for one seat on the Independence Town Council. Qualifying for the fall ballot continues through close of business on Friday afternoon.

The race is on to the Nov. 8 primary election as those vying for public office begin to file their official notice of candidacy this week.

Tangipahoa Parish Clerk of Court Gary Stanga welcomed more than two dozen local candidates to his office inside the Amite Courthouse for qualifying on Wednesday. Stanga said the first day of qualifying included eight of the nine incumbents for Tangipahoa Parish School Board, as well as candidates for Hammond and Kentwood municipal offices.

Also on the ballot are races in the Village of Tickfaw and a single seat on the Independence Town Council.

Before noon on Wednesday, Stanga said all three of the previously-announced candidates for Mayor of Hammond had already filed their official notices with the Secretary of State. Four of the five incumbent members of the Hammond City Council also filed their intentions to run on the Nov. 8 ballot.

In Kentwood, a three-term town council member has qualified for the Mayor’s post. Terrell “Terry” Hookfin has qualified for mayor, although neither the incumbent Rochelle Bates, nor rumored opponent, freshman councilman Tre’Von Cooper.

Those running for statewide positions must go to Baton Rouge to file their candidacy.

Among the races on the fall ballot are all nine Tangipahoa Parish School Board representatives; Hammond, Kentwood, and Tickfaw municipal elections; and a special election to fill an at-large spot on the Independence Town Council.

As of noon today, the following candidates have qualified for the fall primary in Tangipahoa:

School Board:

District A: Janice Fultz Richards

District B: Tom Tolar

District C: Robin Taylor Abrams

District D: Glenn Westmoreland

District E: Brett K. Duncan,

District F: Trent Anthony, Kimberly Thibodeaux

District G: Jerry Moore

District H: Sandra Bailey-Simmons, Joseph “Joey” Piazza, II, Kelly S. Wells

District I: Rose Quave Dominguez


Mayor: Peter Panepinto, Johnny Pecoraro, Tracy Washington Wells;

City Council District 1: Tasha Robinson

City Council District 2: Carlee White Gonzales

City Council District 3: Tanya T. Turner, Devon A. Wells

City Council District 4: Sam Divittorio

City Council District 5: Steve Leon, Randy M. Wilson


Mayor: Terrell “Teddy” Hookfin

Police Chief: Michael Kazerooni

Kentwood Council: Deanna Burton, Desiree “Nikki” Carrier, William Lawson

In other races, contestants include:

Statewide contests:

U.S. Senator: Beryl A. Billion, Kentwood; Gary Chambers, Jr., Baton Rouge; Xan John, Lafayette; John Kennedy, Baton Rouge; W. Thomas La Fontaine Olson, New Orleans; MV “Vinny” Mendoza, Ponchatoula; Luke Mixon, Bunkie; Syrita Steib, Metairie; Thomas Wenn, Amite;


District 1: Katie Darling, Covington; Howard Kearney, Mandeville;

District 5: Hunter Pullen, West Monroe;

District 6: Brian Belzer, Prairieville;

Court of Appeals Judge, 1st Circuit, 3rd District, Division B: Page McClendon, Madisonville;

Court of Appeals Judge, 1st Circuit, 3rd District, Division D: Elizabeth “Beth” Wolfe, Albany;

Senator District 17: Caleb Seth Kleinpeter, Port Allen; Jimmy S. LaCombe, New Roads;

Livingston Parish

School Board

District 1: Brad Sharp

District 2: Kellee Hennessy Dickerson

District 3: Jeff Frizell

District 4:

District 5: Cecil Harris

District 6: Jeffery Cox

District 7: Katelyn Lockhart Cockerham, Ryan Pope

District 8: Ron McMorris; Monica Madere Sullivan

District 9: Devin Gregoire, Steve Link

Constable Justice of the Peace Ward 11:

Denham Springs

Mayor: Gerard Landry

City Council (5 to be elected): Jim “Jimmy” Gilbert, Raphineas “Ray” Riley, Jeff Wesley,


Mayor: Eileen Bates-McCarroll

Chief of Police: Boyd Wild

Council: Jerry Glascock, Peter Don Onofry, Kimberly Stewart, S. Gerald Stilley, John Thomas


Mayor: Kenny Bayhi

Aldermen: Brent Ballard

St Helena

School Board

District 1: Joyce Porter

District 2: Lolita Porter

District 3: Linda Chaney, Carmen Overton

District 4: George Hughes

District 5: Virginia Bell

District 6: Alton Travis




St. Tammany

Parish Council District 11: Kirk Drumm, Arthur A. Laughlin

School Board

District 1: Matt Greene

District 2: Roslyn Hanson, Bo Jakins

District 3: Adeline Villneurve Rutherford

District 4: Matthew L. Allen

District 5: Charles Brandon Harrell

District 6: Amanda Reed Martin, Michael C. Nation

District 7: Isabelle Moore

District 8: Mike Peterson, Peggy H. Seeley

District 9: Gia R. Baker

District 10: Deborah McCollum

District 11:

District 12: Richard “Rickey” Hursey

District 13: James Braud

District 14: Dennis S. Cousin

District 15: Michelle Ruffino Gallaher

Abita Springs

Mayor: Daniel J. Curtis

Aldermen: E.J. Boudreaux, Jr.; Lynne Congemi, Stewart “ManyLightnings” Eastman, W.E. “Pat” Patterson, III, and Eric Templet

Pearl River

Mayor: Joe D. Lee

Police Chief: Floyd Trascher



Mayor: Lance Willie

Aldermen: Shawn Dillon, George W. Garrett, Jill Palmer Mathies

Washington Parish

School Board

District 1: Justin Brown, Keith R. Giles

District 2:

District 3: Bruce L. Brown, Sr.

District 4:

District 5: Robert W. Boone

District 6:

District 7: Lee Alan McCain, II

District 8: Frankie Crosby, Sr.

District 9: Lesley D. McKinley, Gwendolyn Y. Pigott

Bogalusa School Board

District 1: Paul D. Kates

District 2: Ann G. Arata, LaVerne Cook, Jr.

District 3: Willie “Toni” Breaux

District 4: Catherine “Cathy” Mitchell

District 5: Curtis Creel

District 6: Odie Hughes, IV; Joannie Miller

District 7: Brad Williams


Mayor: Teddy Drummond, Wendy O’Quin Perrette, Tyrin Truong

City Prosecutor: Trent Temples

Council (At Large): James “Mack” McGehee

Council District A: Gloria W. Kates

Council District B: Ellen Carter, Danielle Magee-Keys

Council District C

Council District D

Council District E: Cullie Cotton, Jr.; Mark Irvine

Angie Aldermen: Laurie Ball Pittman,

Qualifying continues through Friday from 8:30 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.

Recommended for you